Posted on

Two Statues in Chemainus British Columbia

Chemainus is a small lumber town where the lumber some years ago stopped supporting the town. The business community led by individual inspiration came up with an idea. They set out to make the town look real pretty with accent on its history with the idea of attracting tourists and by golly it worked like a hot damn. Chemainus most years is a very busy place from Easter till September or October.

Part of the face lifting had to do with the painting of life size or larger murals depicting Chemainus history.  I like to show some of these clever and beautiful murals later, but today is about two statues that I like. The first statue about snipe hunters portrays two brothers I know.

This photo was taken years ago and here is today’s Jash and Stefan.

Initially I assumed vandalism on this statue, but nothing else is damaged so I reckon the damage was accidental or natural (act of God?). The question is whether the statue is going to be repaired or removed.

My favorite statue is the next one. In my head it is known as true love forever.

12 responses to “Two Statues in Chemainus British Columbia

  1. Ahhh, I’m such a sentimentalist…I love your True Love Forever.

  2. Madhu

    Me too 🙂 Thanks for dropping by mu blog and the like!

  3. Great work here, Joseph. Chemainus is a dear community in our hearts and we visit there often. The second statue of the couple is one we stop and look at and talk about each time we are in town. It kind of speaks of a forever love. I am lucky to share such a thing with my wife, so this statue is very personal to us. GREAT work here, my friend, I really enjoyed this post a whole lot.

  4. insight

    seeming
    I really enjoyed this, cheers insight

  5. I never knew statues could actually make me”feel” something more than an appreciation for the artist who created them. The last one, the elderly couple, nearly brought tears to my eyes.

    Thank you for sharing these photos.

    Blessings,
    Cara

  6. Pingback: Return to Chemainus « Mrjom's Blog

  7. Pingback: Revisiting a Chemainus Statue | Mrjom's Blog

Leave a Reply

