Posted on

The Cowichan River Estuary

Here are a few photographs depicting the lowlands through which water of the Cowichan River and the Koksilah River  runs into Cowichan Bay. The area is protected and filled with coastal birds and small wildlife (of which I did not see much evidence the day I took these photos since wildlife photography takes an approach different from the walking on a tour of discovery in which I engaged myself that day).

So check out the scenery.

 It’s a marriage between water and grasses and it accommodates its own plant life (mostly that is the same as everywhere at the seaside of our island)

The end of this path shows in the top of the next photo as a pile of fill that erodes and diminishes.

Flowers such as Goldenrod and Queen Anne’s Lace are part of the roadside vegetation around here, but they thrive also in these open spaced wetlands.

Looking out from these marshes across the Bay shows that quaint little village Cowichan Bay.

Now the evening approaches and  the handheld ought to be replaced by a tripod which means I am going home. However, I found out a long time ago (perhaps this works just for me) that when using slow shutter speeds I do series of three shots  like when bracketing and there often is a sharp  photograph in there.

May your evening after this little excursion which I hope you enjoyed be sweet.

11 responses to “The Cowichan River Estuary

  1. What a relaxing way to end my eveninig with these gorgeous photos. What a beautiful place.

  2. ehpem

    I need to go and take this walk sometime. Lovely place, very well photographed too 🙂

    • Hi Ehpem, not a place for hiking, the estuary is great for a leisurely walking here and there and exploring, with of course the early morning or dusk providing that awesome light we like and perhaps even a few wildlife adventures.

  3. I so love this island. Great captures here, Joseph!

  4. Well, Toad, you are right about this island with all its beauty. From the seaside scenery (I think about 3,500 km) to its mountains and also its architecture it offers lots to whoever likes to record this sort of thing (me).

  5. you are a fantastic photographer! the place looks fabulous.

    • Wow, thank you. I’ve been thinking about replacing it with one of my crappyish old drawings (mostly just for the sake of change), but am very happy not to think about that for a while now.

  6. Pingback: Cowichan River near the Duncan railroad bridge « Mrjom's Blog

Leave a Reply

