Posted on

Cowichan River near the Duncan railroad bridge

 

 

Every river is gorgeous one way or another. It may be an exciting scene or languid atmosphere, etc. Of all the beautiful rivers the Cowichan River is by far my favourite river. I do not say that it is the most beautiful one way or another, even though this river scores tops in my books, it just happens to be my favourite. I am accustomed to her face and happy with that. This past spring I toyed with the idea of committing a blog post to the total river. Instead I’m opting for particular locations. In this episode the river flows through the native land base in Duncan. Other posts dealing with the river are here and here and here.

An interesting phenomenon in the Cowichan River is the native fishing weir.

9 responses to “Cowichan River near the Duncan railroad bridge

  1. Wundervolle Wassermalerei…die Naur ist ein Künstler 🙂

  2. wolke205

    Einfach wunderschön…da wäre ich jetzt gerne… 🙂

  3. This river is one of our favorite jewels in the valley, Joseph! I love your photographs here, you’ve really brought all the beauty of this place out for everyone here!

  4. ehpem

    Very nice spot, and I love those house fronts, as you might guess I would. Looks very peaceful.

    • I am sure, ehpem, that these house fronts (actually the backs) never get observed by the majority of Duncanites. This very short stretch of river does not get visited very much at all by anyone.

      • ehpem ⋅

        I think in traditional times, this face of the building, right on the river, would have been the front, which might be why they have been painted. Kind of nice to have this secret art gallery to surprise the more enterprising walkers.

Leave a Reply

