Posted on

Bridge over the Koksilah River

Here is a picture of the abandoned railroad line crossing the Koksilah River. The line from Victoria to Duncan and north of Duncan has been all but abandoned due to its advanced state of disrepair. If I remember the story right it is still being used sporadically by freight trains that may not go over 25 km p.h. There are revival ideas but for these to happen all the communities bordering the railroad line have to be financially aboard. So far that is not the case.

Koksilah River railroad bridge

railroad bridge across the Koksilah

9 responses to “Bridge over the Koksilah River

  1. This is smashingly terrific, Joseph! Wow, I hadn’t seen this bridge before, I’ve gotta go looking for it! I love that second shot in particular, your low perspective adds a lot to the haunted feel of the scene here. I’ve got your email, I am sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you my friend, we’re having a crazy week here on our end!!

    • Thank you Mr Toad, Initially I thought the first photo as better, but looking at it again the second does have the pizzazz. I’m glad you made me reevaluate. As far as your crazy week goes, we all know that summer is the busiest time. I say no hurry no worry 😉

    • Turn from the highway unto Miller Rd, (across the highway from the Old Farm Market), and park the car before crossing the railroad track. It is a very short walk down the railroad track to the Koksilah River.

  2. wolke205

    Amazing piece of history 🙂

  3. Both photos are fantastic, they each have their different perspectives that make them great compositions individually.

    • It is amazing and sometimes surprising what different lens lengths can do to the appearance of the subject at hand. The second photo is the more realistic one, but I do like the stretched out look of the first one.

  4. Pingback: 88 Amazing Photography Links That You Won't Want to Miss

  5. Pingback: The Feed Plant | Mrjom's Blog

Leave a Reply

