Posted on

Duncan very early one morning

Moeder_2014-03-07 [BL]

This post has a bit of an introduction to it. While my mother was in palliative care I spent a lot of time with her. First of all The staff at Sunridge Place that was involved with the care for my mother and the family around her needs to be complimented and thanked for the care they provided and the kindness and love they portrayed to us. Their care was both professional and, at times, beyond any call of duty.

When possible I used to go out early in the morning to get some cool fresh air. Mostly it’d be pitch black, but some days those mornings were close to sunrise. As it was in Duncan city, I couldn’t help but give my attention to all the little store fronts. They are small historic jewels very slowly replaced by humongous concrete boxes since the needs of the town grow. As I am not fond of night camera apps the HDR app on my phone was put to use again and seeing the results was a pleasant surprise.

Duncan,fIRST mEMORIAL_2014-03-08[BL]

What you can make out here is the First Memorial Chapel. Before its present function the building was Duncan’s first Catholic church.

Here are a few of the store fronts in the dark. Over the years these buildings have had different businesses occupying them without much visible change to the buildings themselves.Duncan_2014-03-08_05-50-21_HDR[BL]

Duncan_2014-03-08_05-52-54_HDR[BL]

Duncan_2014-03-08_05-48-48[BL]

Duncan_2014-03-08_06-01-50_HDR[BL]

Daylight is making itself known as I wander back to my resposibilities passing by city hall.

early morning Duncan~04 early morning Duncan~06

This exercise calls for a follow up with camera and tripod in the near future. Thank you for walking with me.

2014-03-07_06-37-31_HDR[BL]

6 responses to “Duncan very early one morning

  1. ehpem

    These are very nice shots Joseph. Good to see that parts of old Duncan survive. The Arbutus used to be a destination for pie – I wonder if that is still true.

  2. Sorry to hear about your mother Joseph, our hearts and prayers are with you my friend. Your emotions have really come through in your images in this post, as has the great heritage that makes up the core of our wonderful town. Great job here, my friend. Best wishes to you, from us.

    • Thank you so much Mr and Mrs Toad. Meanwhile I started photographing these buildings again one half hour before sunrise this past Sunday. That gave me about 40 minutes with the light I wanted like street and window light. Hopefully a few of these photos will show up here this weekend.

  3. Joseph, I also send my sympathies on your mother. (I have been lagging on reading posts, and am just now getting back to it). These photos of Duncan are wonderful, and have a good, old town feel to them. The HDR has served you well with these photos.

    • Thank you, Angeline, for your sympathies. I’m still working on the Duncan project. The downtown shopping district is not big and some Sunday morning soon is slated for photographing what I missed on last week’s excursion.

Leave a Reply

